School News

Under the Legendary Coach Eyre, Pioneers Win 18th District Championship in 25 Seasons

The Pioneers won their 18th district championship in 25 seasons on Thursday.

Senior, Thomas Weiss, now a four-time state qualifier, and freshman Sam Stickels won four straight matches on their way to the district doubles championship, blasting Keokuk juniors Gabe Vandenberg and Dan Williams 6-2, 6-1 in the finals.

Senior, Sam Arsanjani won three matches and qualified for state for the second year in a row in singles, edging Fairfield's Sean Soupiset in a 3hr, 15 min. cramp-filled marathon semi-final 6-4, 6-7 (3-7), 6-4 before falling in the final to Fairfield freshman, Alexander Punj 3-6.

Raphael Gelfand, junior, and Solaris Nite, sophomore, reached the semifinals in doubles with straight-set wins over teams from Burlington, Notre Dame and Fort Madison.

Sophomore, Surya Sawhney had a tough draw, meeting eventual district singles champion Alexander Punj of Fairfield in the first round.

Coach Eyre announced his impending retirement following Thursday’s tournament, “It’s a happy day,” said Eyre. “It’s my last year coaching so this win is especially sweet. I appreciate the focus my players gave today.” Lawrence Eyre has coached all 18 of those district championship teams, was the 2009 National High School Coach of the Year awarded by the United States Professional Tennis Association, and was inducted into the Iowa Hall of Fame in 2009.

Coach Eyre and his legacy of greatness will be missed at Maharishi School. He has trained hundreds of students to be successful in both tennis and in the game of life.

Fairfield and Keokuk will square off Saturday 5/12, with the winner playing Pella in the first round of sub-state May 19 in Fairfield.

Substate host, Maharishi School, will meet the winner of this Saturday's preliminary sub-state match between Grinnell and Chariton on May 19th as well. Winners of the first-round matches will duke it out at the MUM courts that afternoon for a trip to the final four.

Team Standings: (based on 3 points for each doubles victory; 2 points for each singles victory)

1) Maharishi 24 points
2) Fairfield 12 points
3) Keokuk 11 points
4) Davis County 10 points
5) Fort Madison 6 points
6) Mount Pleasant 5 points
7) Burlington Notre Dame 4 points
8) Centerville 3 points

Tags: , , ,


Website by Blue Sheep Studios