School News

Loebsack Announces Winners of 2010 Art Contest

Reprinted from Rep. Loebsack's website

Washington, May 3 - Congressman Dave Loebsack announced the winners of the 2010 Congressional Art Contest. This contest was open to all high school students in the Second District of Iowa. This year marks the 28th anniversary of the Congressional Art Competition. The competition was created to recognize the creative talents of young Americans. School children from across all 435 congressional districts participate each year.

“Art education spurs creative thinking and enhances scholastic performance. Investments in art and music produce incalculable awards and I am impressed with the creative and artistic abilities of the students in Iowa’s Second District,” said Loebsack. “All of the works submitted to the contest are worthy of being displayed in the Unites States Capitol. Eastern Iowa is fortunate to have such talented students.”

The winners include:

1st Place: Kenzie Wacknov, Maharishi School, “Self-Portrait”
2nd Place: Kelsey Berg, Mid-Prairie High School, “Traffic”
3rd Place: Brandon Prather-Huff, Maharishi School, “School Jump”
Honorable Mention: Ryan Smelcer, Maharishi School
Honorable Mention: Nathan Zhu, Maharishi School
Honorable Mention: Grace Hartnet, Maharishi School
Honorable Mention: Ashley Rippenkroeger, Central Lee High School
Honorable Mention: Zack Fett, Central Lee High School
Honorable Mention: Carrie Fiordilise, Mid-Prairie

As the first place winner of the Second District Congressional Art Contest, Kensie Wacknov will soon have her winning piece displayed in the Cannon Tunnel of the U.S. Capitol Building in Washington, D.C. for one year. The second and third place winners, Kelsey Berg and Brandon Prather-Huff, will have their work hung in Congressman Loebsack’s office.

The participating artwork was on display at the Legion Arts, an award-winning Cedar Rapids nonprofit, and judged by Mel Andringa, who hosted the contest as well. Michael Harker, photographer and owner of Orange Crate Gallery, and John Beckelman, Professor of Art at Coe College and member of the Board of Directors for The Ceramics Center also judged the contest.

“I am grateful to have such an active arts community in Eastern Iowa, and would like to commend everyone for ensuring the success of this year’s Congressional Art Competition,” added Loebsack. “The art contest raises awareness of talented students in the area and also serves to increase participation in the arts community as a whole.”


Tags: , , ,

Website by Blue Sheep Studios