School News

Historic Triple Crown Victory

Yesterday the Maharishi School boys tennis team made Iowa history in many ways.

By winning the Class 1A State Team Championship, they completed the coveted “Triple Crown,” having won the State Singles and State Doubles Championships last Saturday.

Pictured: kneeling L-R: Sam Stickels, Chandre Morales; standing: Coach Steve Briggs, Assistant Coach and alumnus Luke Hillis, Solaris Nite, Surya Sawhney, Avery Mullenneaux, David Fleshman, Girindra Selleck

This is the third time our Pioneers have swept the top tennis honors, having won back-to-back Triple Crowns in 1999 and 2000. No other school in Iowa has won 3 Triple Crowns!

It also marked the 17th time our boys team has reached the Final Four, another state record. And that is on top of the 10th consecutive Final Four appearance, another Iowa record.

Coaching the team were Steve Briggs and alumnus, Luke Hillis. Also present at the historic match was former coach and patriarch of the School's tennis program, Lawrence Eyre. Eyre coached the previous two Triple Crown - winning teams and has a place in the National Hall of Fame for Head Coach.

Car Caravan: 7:00pm
To celebrate this Team and this Tradition, we will have a Pioneer Victory Parade leaving from the Fieldhouse at 7:00pm tonight, Wednesday, June 4th—a car caravan through Fairfield open to everyone in our community.

Celebration: 7:30pm
We will return to the Henry Ogden Clark Auditorium at the School for a Celebration of Success at 7:30pm. Everyone is invited, especially former Pioneer players (girls and boys) and parents.

Livestream Online
We are quickly making arrangements to have the celebration livestreamed on the internet so Pioneers and fans all over the world can participate. We will send out another email later today with the link.

Join us tonight to honor the Pioneer Team and Tradition! 

Tags: , , , , ,


Website by Blue Sheep Studios